PARLIAMENT QUESTION: Doppler Radar Station at Balasore

Posted On: 12 DEC 2024 3:03PM by PIB Delhi

The Doppler Weather Radars(DWRs) network is mainly used to monitor localized thunderstorms and heavy rainfall and to issue timely nowcast warnings for up to 3 hours. The DWR data are also ingested in the Numerical Weather Prediction (NWP) models, especially in Nowcast models, for the prediction of rainfall and thunderstorms in 6 to 12 hours in advance. Suitable warnings and alerts are issued with the help of these DWRs.

The State Government is expected to hand over the building for DWR at Balasore by March, 2025. After the building is handed over to IMD, the installation and commissioning of DWR Balasore will be completed.

Three DWRs are planned in the State of Odisha (at Balasore, Sambalpur, and Bhubaneswar).

Currently, 39 Doppler Weather Radars (DWRs) are installed at various locations across the country. The State and location-wise details are given in Annexure-1. The newly launched Mission Mausam is intended to augment the Doppler Weather Radars (DWRs) network across the country for complete radar coverage and to enhance the accuracy of the weather forecasting system. Mission Mausam was launched in September 2024 and planned to install 87 more DWRs by 2026.

14 States and UTs depend on DWR deployed in neighbouring States.

It is intended to augment the Doppler Weather Radars (DWRs) network across the country for complete radar coverage, including Bihar and UTs, and to enhance the accuracy of the weather forecasting system.

Doppler Weather Radars (DWRs)Network:				
S. No.	State	Name of Station	DWR type	
1.	West Bengal	Kolkata	S-Band	
2.		Machilipatnam	S-Band	
3.	Andhra Pradesh	Visakhapatnam	S-Band	
4.		Sriharikota (ISRO)	S-Band	
5.	Telangana	Hyderabad	S-Band	
6.		Palam	S-Band	
7.	Delhi	HQ New Delhi	C-Band (Polarimetric)	
8.		Aya Nagar	X-Band	
9.		Nagpur	S-Band	
10.	Maharashtra	Mumbai	S-Band	
11.	Ivialiarasilu'a	Mumbai Veravali	C-Band	
12.		Solapur	C-Band	
13.	Tripura	Agartala	S-Band	
14.	Bihar	Patna	S-Band	

Annexure-1

15.	Uttar Pradesh	Lucknow	S-Band
16.	Punjab	Patiala	S-Band
17.	Assam	Mohanbari	S-Band
18.	Madhya Pradesh	Bhopal	S-Band
19.	Odisha	Paradip	S-Band
20.	Odisna	Gopalpur	S-Band
21.		Karaikal	S-Band
22.	Tamil Nadu	Chennai (NIOT)	X-Band
23.		Chennai	S-Band
24.	Goa	Goa	S-Band
25.	Gujarat	Bhuj	S-Band
26.	Rajasthan	Jaipur	C-Band (Polarimetric)
27.		Srinagar	X-Band
28.	Jammu & Kashmir	Jammu	X-Band
29.		Banihal Top	X-Band
30.		Kochi	S-Band
31.	Kerala	VSSC (ISRO) Thiruvananthpuram	C-Band
32.		Mukteshwar	X-Band
33.	Uttarakhand	Surkanda Devi	X-Band
34.		Lansdowne	X- Band
35.	Ladakh	Leh	Transportable X-Band
36.		Kufri	X-Band
37.	Himachal Pradesh	Jot	X-Band
38.		Murari Devi	X-Band
39.	Meghalaya	Cherapunji (ISRO)	S-Band

This information was given by Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Science & Technology and Earth Sciences, Dr. Jitendra Singh in a written reply in the Rajya Sabha today.

NKR/KS

(Release ID: 2083682)