GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES **RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. - 181** ANSWERED ON – 03/02/2022

BLUE ECONOMY INITIATIVE

181. Smt. Geeta alias Chandraprabha:

Will the Minister of EARTH SCIENCES be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the Blue economy initiative of Government;
- (b) the funds provisioned last year under Deep Ocean Mission; and
- (c) the total number of Doppler Weather Radars which are being operated at present in the country, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AND EARTH SCIENCES (DR. JITENDRA SINGH)

- (a) The Government of India's Vision of New India by 2030 enunciated in February 2019 highlighted the Blue Economy as the sixth dimension of its vision. A Draft Policy document on Blue Economy has been prepared by MoES taking into consideration the reports of the expert working groups which emphasizes holistic development and growth of India's Blue Economy. The following seven thematic areas or pillars are identified:
 - National accounting framework for the blue economy and ocean governance.
 - Coastal Marine Spatial Planning and Tourism.
 - Marine fisheries, aquaculture, and fish processing.
 - Manufacturing, Emerging industries, trade, technology, services, and skill development.
 - Logistics, infrastructure and shipping, including trans-shipments.
 - Coastal and deep-sea mining and offshore energy.
 - Security, strategic dimensions, and international engagement
- (b) Rs. 150 Cr has been provisioned during 2021-22 under Deep Ocean Mission.
- (c) At present, there are 33 Doppler Weather Radars (DWR) which are being operated in the country. The details are at Annexure.

Annexure

S.No.	Name of Station	Type of Doppler	Commissioned
		Weather Radar	on
1	Chennai (Tamil Nadu)	S-Band	22.02.2002
2	Kolkata (West Bengal)	S-Band	29.01.2003
3	Machilippatnam (Andhra Pradesh)	S-Band	08.12.2004
4	Visakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh)	S-Band	27.07.2006
5	Palam, (Delhi)	S-Band	22.04.2010
6	Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh)	S-Band	16.07.2010
7	Nagpur (Maharashtra)	S-Band	28.02.2011
8	Agartala (Tripura)	S-Band	13.03.2011
9	Patna (Bihar)	S-Band	27.05.2011
10	Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh)	S-Band	16.08.2011
11	Patiala (Punjab)	S-Band	13.10.2011
12	Mohanbari (Assam)	S-Band	02.06.2012
13	Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh)	S-Band	06.11.2013
14	Paradip (Odisha)	S-Band	19.11.2015
15	Karaikal (Tamil Nadu)	S-Band	29-10-2015
16	Goa (Goa)	S-Band	27-11-2016
17	Mumbai (Maharashtra)	S-Band	25.08.2015
18	Bhuj (Gujarat)	S-Band	17.08.2016
19	Gopalpur (Odisha)	S-Band	19-11-2015
20	HQ, (New Delhi)	C-Band/	19.12.2011
		Polarimetric	
21	Jaipur, (Rajasthan)	C-Band/	28.01.2012
		Polarimetric	
22	Srinagar, (J&K)	X-Band	01-05-2015
23	Kochi, (Kerala)	S-Band	12-07-2017
24.	Mukteshwar (Uttarakhand)	X-Band	30-09-2020
25.	Leh, (Ladakh)	Transportable Radar	26-10-2020
26.	Kufri, Shimla, (Himachal Pradesh)	X-Band	07-12-2020
27.	Jammu, (J&K)	X-Band	24-08-2021
28.	Aya Nagar, (Delhi)	X-Band	09-10-2021
29	VSSC (ISRO) Thiruvananthapuram,	C-Band	13-01-2016
	(Kerala)		
30.	Cherrapunji (ISRO), (Meghalaya)	S-Band	27-05-2016
31.	Chennai NIOT, (Tamilnadu)	X-Band	22-12-2021
32.	Mumbai Veravali, (Maharashtra)	C-Band	31-12-2021
33.	Sriharikota (ISRO), (Andhra)	S-Band	April, 2018